In many states (but not Massachusetts), the marriage of a minor automatically emancipates him or increases his or her legal rights beyond the minor`s permission to consent to certain medical treatments.  Unfortunately, there is no fairytale wedding without some legal hurdles, especially meeting the technical requirements of marriage and obtaining the actual marriage certificate. Alabama residents must file an application for a marriage license with a county court clerk and provide full names and identification documents. Note that if one of the parties has divorced within 60 days of applying for a marriage certificate, they will not be able to marry unless they remarry. Marriage license fees vary by county, so check with your local county official for details on fees and additional requirements, as some counties may require you to pay in cash. (a) This section is known and may be cited as the Alabama Marriage Protection Act. (b) Marriage is inherently a unique relationship between a man and a woman. For reasons of public policy, that State has a particular interest in promoting, supporting and protecting this unique relationship, in order, inter alia, to promote the stability and well-being of society and its children. A same-sex marriage is invalid in this state.
(c) Marriage is a sacred covenant between a man and a woman which, if the legal capacity and consent of both parties exists, establishes their relationship as husband and wife and is recognized by the State as a civil contract. (d) In the State of Alabama, no marriage certificate may be issued to parties of the same sex. (e) The State of Alabama shall not validate any same-sex marriage that has taken place or is deemed to have occurred under the law of any jurisdiction, whether or not a marriage certificate has been issued. Below, you can read our curated list of all Alabama laws regarding marriage, marriages, officials, and marriage licenses. If it has anything to do with marriage, you can find it here. Alabama Code 30-1-4, 5: Minimum age for marriage; Parental consent and commitment required for the marriage of certain minors. Over the past 15 years, about 200,000 minors have married. Underage marriages in the United States are not permitted except in exceptional circumstances, including the consent of a clerk or judge, the consent of the minor`s parents or guardians, if one of the parties is pregnant or has given birth to a child, or if the minor is emancipated. New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware do not allow underage marriage in exceptional circumstances. A person under the age of 16 may not enter into marriage. The probate judge must keep a register in which all marriages filed in office are registered.
The probate judge shall register in a permanent register all marriages submitted to the probate court and shall transmit the original documents to the Civil Registry Office in accordance with articles 22-9A-17. (a) The Council shall normally determine what details or information must be included in birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates, as well as in reports on fetal death and induced abortion. Any certificate, report or other document required under this Chapter shall be in a format prescribed by the State Chancellor. (b) Information required in certificates or reports approved under this Chapter may be submitted and recorded by photographic, electronic or other means at the request of the State Chancellor. Just over 8,600 of these child marriages occurred in Alabama. The youngest was 13 years old and the largest age difference between spouses was 60. A 14-year-old girl married a 74-year-old man, according to Frontline data. Reiss adds that she believes that even in many states where the majority of lawmakers are older white Christian men, there is a lack of understanding of the big issues. “That often means it`s hard to get support,” she said, noting that lawmakers often have very different priorities for raising the age of marriage. “But that`s not the case in every state, because in many places the main sponsor was a white man.” We probably all dreamed of it as teenagers: running away with the first crush and getting married.
And parents certainly feared that their children would do the same. But for this marriage to be legal in the state of Yellowhammer, certain age requirements must first be met. And this age usually depends on whether or not children have their parents` permission to attach themselves. This is an introduction to the age requirements of marriage in Alabama. Alabama`s public health civil registry specifies the information needed to find a marriage license. For example, you must provide as much information as possible so that we can find the marriage certificate: If at least one of the spouses has not yet reached the general age of marriage, the marriage is considered a minor. Six states completely ban underage marriage: Delaware, New Jersey, Minnesota, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania and New York. Other states may require the minor partner to obtain either parental consent, judicial authorization, or both, or to invoke “extraordinary circumstances.” The minimum age of marriage for minors, when all extenuating circumstances are taken into account, is generally between 15 and 17 years, but may be lower in California and Massachusetts. Nine states do not allow a person over the age of 21 to marry a minor.